Skillet Eggplant

This dish was just strange. I thought going into it that the familiarity of eggplant and onions would mingle well. What actually happened was balsamic vinegar, stuffed green olives, and mozzarella cheese mashed together giving me a hesitance on my tongue that I don’t like to associate with food.

In my mind I could picture some young foreign child, eating this bowl of half-liquid, half solid, sweet and sour, juicy and tough meal. A young foreigner. Not me. This was like Ratatouille except bad. The aftertaste was pleasant, but the actual act of eating it was pretty gross. Too salty. This recipe came from “Seasoned in the South” by Bill Smith. The author says the recipe came from someone’s grandmother from Asheville. I’ll take that as completely unreliable. I don’t know how this is supposed to taste or look like southern food, but it was…unique. An acquired taste for sure.  

My opinion: not ok!

Simmering in its own juice of confusion.

 You could also use sherry vinegar and feta cheese, but I don’t see any improvement, and I doubt I will try it again. Yummier things next time.  From Best of the Best Vol 9.

Leave a Reply

